Got hassled by a Ranger today

RangerBurger

Jan 23, 2011
Humboldt County
<hr style="color:#f4f4f4; background-color:#f4f4f4" size="1"> So here's the story. Took my new XP4 down to Cow Mt to meet CrazyWatson and take it on its maiden voyage. Didn't even have it unloaded off the trailer when a BLM ranger pulled up asking to see our green stickers. I told him I bought mine in Oregon and showed him my OR off-road permit sticker. He told me that I had to have a green sticker or a non-resident operating sticker. He said he'd write me a ticket if I unloaded it and I can't ride it without a green sticker. He wasn't going to cut me any breaks.
I called the dealer I bought it from and they assured me my sticker is my registration and that OR and CA have reciprocity and honor each others operating permits. I told this info to the Ranger who called someone and then told me that it didn't matter. If I was a resident of OR that might be true but because I'm a resident of CA it's not. I asked him again if I could slide for the day and he got pissy.
I then called a buddy of mine who is a retired deputy who just happened to be with his brother who is a CHP and they said even if that was true I should have ten days after bringing a vehicle into the state to register it. I told that to the ranger and he didn't want to hear it. He said that wasn't for OHV's. No soup for me.
So my brand new XP4 with .2 miles on it sat on the trailer and I rode bitch with Steve for the day.
Going to the DMV tomorrow to get some answers. Plenty of people had told me if I was registered in OR I would be fine in CA. No one said I had to be an OR resident. I'd like to hear what others opinions and experiences have been with this issue. If I go to register it in CA I have to pay the sales tax on the purchase$$$.

The following is pulled from the CA.gov homepage. Nothing about my situation.