Yamaha Which engine to swap?!

cfyca

Jun 7, 2011
Hey guys I am new to the Rhino community. I just bought a full roller built for desert racing, and I'm so freakin stoked about it! :D Now comes the tough part.. Which engine to go with?!

I know there are days and days of postings on here about engine swaps, R1, Rotax, SV's, etc.. But what about desert racing on series like BOR (I'm from UT) and Best in the Desert? What are these guys running?

The SR1's look soooo sick, but I don't know about the BITD qualifications (like requiring reverse).. There is one dude on here claiming to have successfully done an R1 swap while preserving 4wd and reverse, but it sounds a little debatable judging by the forum. What about the Rotax swaps? They seem pretty straight forward and reliable, but is the power there?

I would REALLY appreciate any info, advice, guidance, or pointers you guys are willing to offer.. I'm like a sponge at this point just trying to soak as much info. in as I can!

Thanks

rupert14

Raber Racing - UTVUnderground Approved
Jan 14, 2010
If you plan to race BITD either replace it with stock or go 1000cc bike motor. I have a can am Spyder 990cc Vtwin motor that HAS factory reverse. I have lots of motors laying around but never have had the opportunity to swap that one into anything. It would be good for racing as evolution cycles in california has pistons/cams that will make the motor put down 150HP at the rear wheel on a spyder and it is still a pump gas motor at 9.5:1 compression.

I have had two CBR1000 motors and they make more torque that the R-1 and are cheapr but you are on your own for getting everything figured out.

Put an R1 in it and come race BITD with us. I have rumor of five cars preparing for next years DSR1 class. It will be a blast.

Did you buy my old car?

cfyca

Jun 7, 2011
Thank you for the advice everyone.. There is definitely not a shortage of options!