The 2015 SCORE Baja 500 was as good of a race as any we have ever seen! 23 Pro UTVs would line up to take on this years epic race with only 11 of those actually finishing. It was long, rough and hard as is always the case south of the border.

After 13 hours of non stop racing it would be Wayne Matlock in his Jimco built Polaris RZR XP1000 who would cross the line first. Not far behind him was the 1932 Jagged X RZR of Brandon Schueler. Derek & Jason Murray in their Murray Motorsports Can-Am Maverick Turbo would cross the line in 3rd. After review, SCORE would hand out penalties causing the 1932 Jagged X RZR to be bumped to 4th, moving the 1917 Murray Motorsports Maverick into second thus placing Michael Cafro in his Polaris RZR into the 3rd position. Jagged X is still awaiting notification from SCORE on where the infractions occurred.

It was an amazing display of speed, prep and navigation by Wayne Matlock and his team. They earned a well deserved win!

Congratulations to everyone who took on the race. Thank you to each and every team who represented, we can’t thank you enough!

Official Results CLASS 19 (Limited, Stock 4-wheel Utility Vehicle)
1. Wayne Matlock/Sam Hayes, El Cajon, Calif., Polaris RZR XP4 1000, 13:04:50 (39.03 mph);
2. Derek Murray/Jason Murray, Eastvale, Calif., Can-Am Maverick Max, 14:38:50;
3. Michael Cafro, Fallbrook, Calif./Jamie Kirkpatrick, Olympia, Wash., Polaris RZR XP1000, 15:13:21;
4. Brandon Schueler/Chad Hummer, Phoenix/Keith Redstrom, Glendale, Ariz., Polaris RZR XP1000, Polaris RZR, 15:47:33;
5. Cory Sappington/Scott Sappington/Darren Sappington, Peoria, Ariz., Glendale, Calif., Can-Am Maverick Max, 16:26:00;
6. Scott McFarland/Nick Oldham, Moab, Utah/Mickey Thomas, Cumming, Ga., Polaris RZRXP1000, 16:41:52;
7. Jonathan McVay, Sun Tan Valley, Ariz./Greg Williams, Mesa, Ariz., Polaris RZR1000, 17:59:45;
8. Marc Behnke, El Cajon, Calif./Derek McGaughy, Alpine, Calif., Polaris RZR 1000, 18:01:32;
9. Raul Gonzalez/Jorge Hernandez, Mazatlan, Mexico/Daniel Gonzalez, San Luis Rio Colorado, Mexico, Polaris RZR XP1000, 19:40:07;
10. Cody Nygren/Ashton Hemphill, Farmington, N.M./Dan Fisher, Gilbert, Ariz., Polaris RZR XP1000, 19:48:40;
11. Rodolfo Navarro, Mexicali, Mexico/Jorge Navarro, Calexico, Calif., Polaris RZR XP1000, 21:00:08.
(23 Starters, 11 Finishers)

CLASS 19 Start List (23)
1937 Marc Behnke
1917 Derek Murray
1915 Thomas Graves
1942 Scott McFarland
1927 Ben Wilson
1921 Johnny Angal
1904 Cory Sappington
1905 Marc Burnett
1952 Jonathan McVay
1946 Jose Juarez
1916 Cody Nygren
1908 Justin Lambert
1949 Alonso Lopez
1971 Wayne Matlock
1988 Wes Miller
1930 Sean Cook
1932 Brandon Schueler
1909 Roberto Balderrama
1938 George Felix
1911 Rodolfo Navarro
1918 Mike Cafro
1903 Jaime Romero-2nd RS
1924 Raul Gonzalez-1st RS

Photos by: Tony Lozza //


Comments are closed.