Best E-Rated AT Tire

JoeyD23

#utvunderground
Jan 9, 2009
North County San Diego
www.utvunderground.com
I'm preparing to line up some tires for the new 17 F350 and ideally would like to stick with BFG. I've learned that their site sucks for information. (At least from a mobile platform)

The truck came with 20" wheels and I like the look of a 20" wheel with a 35" tire. (47s look better but I don't want to change gearing) I've already acquired new 20" Walker Evans Wheels.

My question is, what's the best E-Rated AT tire out there? I will be towing some heavy loads but I'll also be chasing and doing some light off road driving without a load in the bed or on a trailer and plan to drive this truck quite a bit.

1. Durability / Longevity
2. Rated for towing
3. Off-Road Capable
4. Look good

I need some help here...

valco

Apr 30, 2009
I'm a BFG all terrain fan as well, I have been running them for the last 25 years with zero issues.

ironworks

Jan 18, 2010
Tire rack.com is your friend.

BFG may make a great tire, but their specs are all over the board. They make 35" e rated tire that wont hold 80 psi or the load of other E rated tires. You gonna have to shop around for the size you truly want to run. The specs are all over the board.

Reactions: JoeyD23

bdk

Jul 28, 2016
I'm really happy with the 35" BFG KO2's on my Powerwagon and I think they would work great for you. The are silent on the road, track well and have good tread wear. They should work well in dry sandy environments and have a reputation for being very tough. My 2nd choice would be the Toyo Open Country AT II. I think they would perform a little better in mud but they are heavier and will probably have a greater affect on fuel economy. Both tires have a great reputation and I think you would be very pleased either way. As for looks, I like the sidewall on the BFG's better but the Toyos tread looks more aggressive.

Last edited:

desertwheeler

Extra Crispy
Oct 25, 2011
Barstow