Polaris RZR® Factory Racing Team is victorious after securing podiums in all three Pro UTV classes of the world’s most prestigious desert race, the 51st SCORE Baja 1000. Polaris athletes dominated the 806.76-mile race and earned the Pro UTV Forced Induction title, and swept the Pro UTV NA class podium.

Polaris RZR Wayne Matlock 2018 Baja 1000

Polaris Factory Driver Wayne Matlock had a dominating performance in the iconic race series, outperforming all Pro UTV contenders across three Pro classes. Matlock ultimately secured the Pro UTV Forced Induction title in 20:25:17.858 time, winning the overall Pro UTV title by over 40 minutes to second place. Matlock’s wins contributed to capturing the monumental overall SCORE Series Championship title – a first-in-class for UTV’s. The 2018 title marks Matlock’s seventh all-time class victory in the Baja 1000.

Factory teammates Rhys Millen and Mitch Guthrie Jr. took home the third-place title in the Pro class. Meanwhile, Tyler Backus, Kaden Wells, and Paul Champion had an extraordinary performance following in-suit and swept the Pro UTV NA class, respectively all driving Polaris RZR’s. In the Pro UTV Unlimited class, Al McBeth won second place and Josh Herzing captured the third-place finish.

“The perseverance and determination of the Polaris RZR Factory Team continues to drive massive successes in some of the most rugged races on the planet,” said Kyle Duea, vice president of ORV Marketing at Polaris Industries. “Matlock’s remarkable accomplishment goes in tandem with the team’s lights out performance in the 51st Baja 1000, and we’re incredibly proud of the continuous wins this year.”

The Baja 1000 victories combine for 50 wins and 118 podiums in the 2018 calendar race series.

More information about Polaris Off-Road Vehicles can be found at RZR.Polaris.com. Also visit us and join the conversation on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here