For the fourth year in a row, Phil Blurton stood atop the podium as the winning UTV driver of Friday’s Maxxis Tire Casey Folks Vegas to Reno, the United States’ longest point-to-point desert race and the longest event of the 2020 Best in the Desert season. Blurton and co-driver Beau Judge completed the 514-mile trek in 9:52:26.160, just over three minutes quicker than defending BITD UTV Turbo champion Mitch Guthrie Jr. and third place finisher Dustin Jones.

2020 bitd v2r orr web 2 1 2048x1365 1

Matt Burroughs and Jason Murray completed the top five, while Craig Scanlon, Marc Burnett, PJ Jones, Jorge Vela, and Logan Gastel rounded out the top 10. The top 13 UTV Turbo finishers made it to the line within an hour of Blurton’s time, and an additional nine made it within two hours—a testament to the strength of the field given grueling conditions on the course. A new layout for 2020 included a new starting area in Amargosa Valley, and different routes throughout the journey to the checkered flag in Dayton.

In UTV Production, Seth Quintero also successfully defended his Vegas to Reno win from last year, beating Kolton Hustead to the finish line for the second year in a row, with Kristen Matlock completing the course solo to round out the podium. The UTV Unlimited win went to Wes Miller, with Josh Shelton and Randy Raschein completing the podium. All three premier UTV class wins were decided by six minutes or less.

A race like Vegas to Reno always claims its share of high-profile DNFs, and this year’s event was no exception. Titans of the sport like defending Baja 1000 winner Justin Lambert, two-time defending SCORE champion Wayne Matlock, and 2020 Mint 400 winner Branden Sims were among the UTV Turbo racers whose trek north ended early on Friday. Third place in class in last year’s race turned out to be an unlucky spot for this year’s racers, as UTV Turbo’s Austin Weiland, UTV Production’s Adrian Orellana, and UTV Unlimited’s Travis Zollinger all suffered early DNFs that prevented them from improving on last year’s runs.

This year’s Vegas to Reno was heralded as the biggest ever thanks to a healthy entry list, and UTVs were a major contributing factor. In total, 66 racers—34 in UTV Turbo, 17 in UTV Production, and 15 in UTV Unlimited—finished among the 109 combined pro UTV entries. Rick Massie was the lone UTV Sportsman finisher, as Michael Adams, the lone other class entry, failed to finish.

2020 bitd v2r orr web 1 2048x1365 1

Full UTV results from the 2020 Maxxis Tire Casey Folks Vegas to Reno were as follows:

UTV Turbo

1T944Phil BlurtonAuburn, CACAM09:52:26.160
2T901Mitch.. Guthrie Jr.Glendora, CAPOL09:55:30.217
3T978Dustin JonesShreveport, LACAM09:56:11.315
4T948Matt BurroughsNorco, CACAM10:04:59.738
5T917Jason MurraySanta Ana, CACAM10:13:47.499
6T931Craig ScanlonYorba Linda, CAPOL10:20:34.147
7T905Marc. BurnettChula Vista, CACAM10:23:21.469
8T998Pj JonesScottsdale, AZCAM10:24:13.808
9T873Jorge VelaCabo San Lucas,CAM10:26:31.805
10T969Logan GastelHighland, CACAM10:28:11.379
11T961Nate HaleDraper, UTPOL10:29:43.079
12T974Randy RomoHenderson, NVPOL10:33:33.935
13T813Cole FreidayKingman, AZCAM10:49:04.977
14T950Vito RanuioStockton, CACAM10:54:07.919
15T975Michael CafroFallbrook, CAPOL10:55:46.268
16T887Edgar GarciaTrabuco Canyon,CAM10:59:47.934
17T910Dan FisherMesa, AZCAM11:01:44.586
18T925James MooreFarmington, NMCAM11:05:42.795
19T806Mitchell AlsupBakersfield, CACAM11:20:08.089
20T958Michael Mamelli Jr.Costa Mesa, CAPOL11:20:38.140
21T936Jacob CarverPrescott Valley, APOL11:22:21.014
22T991Sierra RomoHenderson, NVPOL11:30:01.857
23T990Don Daley IiiPoway, CAPOL12:12:06.432
24T952Jonathan McvayQueen Creek, AZPOL12:17:53.107
25T829Aspen ChournosSt George, UTPOL12:31:02.342
26T912Russell BowersStockton, CAPOL12:39:00.532
27T923Robert GottQuincy, CAPOL13:25:19.008
28T821Nathan WaunchOlympia, WAPOL14:01:51.800
29T904Cory SappingtonPeoria, AZCAM15:02:54.134
30T891Bill HermantSparks, NVPOL16:21:09.477
31T860Ryan HaggertyStockton, CAPOL16:54:23.229
32T911Josh MeisterCalifornia City, CACAM17:17:34.604
33T984Kristopher MccoyLindon, UTCAM17:24:27.053
34T967Mike PrattDraper, UTPOL19:04:16.082
DNFT915Jim BeaverParker, AZPOL00:00:00.000
DNFT825Cody . BradburyNuevo, CAPOL00:00:00.000
DNFT845Colt BrinkerhoffLaguna Hills, CACAM00:00:00.000
DNFT914Martin ChristensenEscondido, CACAM00:00:00.000
DNFT934Nicholas GurriesFremont, CAPOL00:00:00.000
DNFT820Rj HayesApple Valley, CACAM00:00:00.000
DNFT858John KawellYorba Linda, CAPOL00:00:00.000
DNFT918Justin LambertBakersfield, CAPOL00:00:00.000
DNFT920Pete LibbyOxford, MECAM00:00:00.000
DNFT971Wayne MatlockAlpine, CAPOL00:00:00.000
DNFT884Brandon .. PierceLindon, UTCAM00:00:00.000
DNFT815Ryan PiplicLas Vegas, NVPOL00:00:00.000
DNFT919Brandon SchuelerPhoenix, AZPOL00:00:00.000
DNFT913Branden SimsPrescott Valley, APOL00:00:00.000
DNFT927Justin SmithWittman, AZCAM00:00:00.000
DNFT943Michael R. TaylorHomeland, CAPOL00:00:00.000
DNFT830Scott TraftonAlpine, CAPOL00:00:00.000
DNFT954Austin WeilandEl Cajon, CACAM00:00:00.000
DNFT849Dean Wheeler JrPhoenix, AZPOL00:00:00.000

UTV Production

11903Seth QuinteroSan Marcos, CAPOL10:34:39.215
21938Kolton HusteadSt George, UTTEX10:38:31.149
31954Kristen MatlockAlpine, CAPOL10:55:16.318
41995Kaden . WellsSt George, UTPOL11:01:33.525
51808Madeline WedekinTemecula, CAPOL11:12:37.076
61854Zackary SimsPurcell, OKYAM12:07:53.193
71962Dodge PoelmanOrem, UTPOL12:11:48.198
81906Mark LevrettSparks, NVTEX12:20:51.046
91817Bret WardScottsdale, AZPOL12:37:29.062
101960Allen AlexanderMinden, NVPOL12:40:56.383
111991Dominick GaglioneHenderson, NVPOL13:25:50.133
121949David ZieglerReno, NVKAW14:00:30.619
131922Tim HallHawthorne, NVPOL14:41:13.471
141907Scott BakerAnaheim Hills, CAPOL15:12:09.053
151850Michael PascarellaRidgecrest, CAPOL15:19:53.902
161950Dean YaleSan Diego, CAKAW16:24:02.697
171855Scott DavisMoreno Valley, CYAM17:38:59.904
DNF1977Brayden BakerYorba Linda, CAPOL00:00:00.000
DNF1957Joe BoltonLa Mirada, CAPOL00:00:00.000
DNF1803Aaron ClarkBrea, CAPOL00:00:00.000
DNF1958George FelixHouston, TXPOL00:00:00.000
DNF1992Brenden HempelBettendorf, IAPOL00:00:00.000
DNF1928Shandy KittlesonHouston, TXPOL00:00:00.000
DNF1985Adrian OrellanaEscondido, CAPOL00:00:00.000
DNF1927Ryan OttersbergPhoenix, AZPOL00:00:00.000
DNF1986Amin PatelTerrebonne, ORPOL00:00:00.000
DNF1959Josh RowLakeside, CAPOL00:00:00.000
DNF1940Troy WallWashington, UTPOL00:00:00.000
DNF1895Corbin WellsSt George, UTPOL00:00:00.000
DNF1948Paul ZieglerReno, NVKAW00:00:00.000

UTV Unlimited

12989Wes MillerLas Vegas, NVPOL10:44:15.613
22929Josh SheltonSpicewood, TXCAM10:50:22.325
32924Randy RascheinBrownsville, ORCAM11:07:20.628
42901Michael IsomSt George, UTCAM11:15:53.108
52998Cameron OrnelasScottsdale, AZCAM12:03:21.683
62981Rodney PyburnMesa, AZPOL13:01:46.128
72930Sean CookTwain Harte, CACAM13:38:59.238
82925Jeramiah DrewLas Vegas, NVCAM13:47:37.786
92917Ben VrbancicBrighton, COPOL13:58:11.401
102940George PondellaGlendale, CACAM13:59:30.045
112982Nicholas ShearerRiverside, CACAM14:26:47.621
122994Christopher PolvoordeHermet, CAHON15:37:51.688
132969Cheyne DewolfeBuckeye, AZCAM16:12:40.470
142996Brook JensenPinon Hills, CAPOL16:36:42.219
152920Cindy CobianClaremont, CAPOL20:48:06.301
DNF2935Ryan CampBremen, GAPOL00:00:00.000
DNF2977Justin ElenburgMesa, AZCAM00:00:00.000
DNF2914Daniel HurnPeoria, AZCAM00:00:00.000
DNF2963Craig JohnsonClarissa, MNCAM00:00:00.000
DNF2951Herman JohnsonRio Rancho, NMCAM00:00:00.000
DNF2941Steven PooleQuartzsite, AZCAM00:00:00.000
DNF2915Branden SorensenLas Vegas, NVCTM00:00:00.000
DNF2964Robert VanbeekumQueen Creek, AZPOL00:00:00.000
DNF2933Eliott WatsonEl Centro, CAHON00:00:00.000
DNF2927Nolan WilliamsLompoc, CACAM00:00:00.000
DNF2975Travis ZollingerLogan, UTCAM00:00:00.000


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here